Charlie is a tireless performer with a commanding stage presence. He has a number of different shows and talks, including his classic all evening, “Eccentric Look at Suffolk”. He has other popular shows that you might wish to book him for:

NEW TALK!!!

Charlie was personally chosen by the great Ralph Fiennes to be the dialect coach for the wonderful Netflix film The Dig. Charlie has created a fascinating new talk about his experiences preparing Ralph and the cast for their roles and Charlie will reveal the extraordinary lengths Ralph Fiennes took, not only to play Basil Brown, but to become Basil Brown!

History of spoken English

This is not a talk on split infinitives, and what the differences are between the past participle and the past tense. Definitely not! Charlie shows how the seeds of spoken English was first sown, and how each invading force affected the English language with the different sounds they brought. Charlie includes a dialect tour of the British Isles, demonstrating the different facial expressions of each dialect. He also shows how some people he knows that lip read can tell what dialect a person has.

 

 

History of English Surnames

Charlie will talk about the Anglo-Saxon and Viking bynames and nicknames we had prior to the Norman Conquest. He will explain how and why surnames evolved after 1066 AD, and the disruption it caused. Charlie then enlightens the audience on the four different types of surnames which includes explaining the meanings of some of the surnames sitting in the audience.

This will be followed by Q&A

 

2022 - 2023 Bookings

Key

TD - Charlie and "The Dig"

HOSE - History of Spoken English

HOSE-2 - History of Spoken English - Part 2

HOS – History of Surnames

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

ELC – Eccentric Look at the Countryside

ADS – After Dinner Speech

OTP – Open to the Public

PF – Private Function

 

2022 - 2023

2022

January

Fri 7th Jan  – Tendring Dist U3A – HOS – Frinton (morning) - PF

Fri 7th Jan  – Tendring Dist U3A – HOS– Holland-on-Sea (afternoon) - PF

Tues 18th Jan - Bury St Edmunds U3A - TD - PF

Wed 19th Jan - Stowmarket U3A - TD - PF

 

February

Thurs 3rd Feb - BBC Radio Suffolk - 3.15pm

Thurs 3rd Feb - Woodbridge Society - TD - PF

Sat 5th Feb - The Bury Society - TD - PF

Wed 9th Feb - Colchester  APPPT - PF - evening

Mon 14th Feb - Hadleigh U3A - TD - PF

Wed 16th Feb - Framlingham History Society - TD - PF

Thurs 17th Feb - Henley W.I. - TD  - PF

Tues 22nd Feb - Watford Park U3A - HOSE - PF

Wed 23rd Feb  – Chorleywood U3A – HOSE - PF

 

 

March

Thurs 3rd Mar - BBC Radio Suffolk - 3.15pm

Sat 5th Mar - Brockley Village Hall - TD - OTP

Wed 9th Mar - Havering U3A - HOS - PF

Wed 16th Mar - Boxted Hist Group - TD - PF

Sat 19th Mar - Burston Church - Norfolk - HOSE - OTP

Sat 26th Mar - Harkstead Church - HOSE - OTP

Tues 29th Mar - Earl Soham W.I. - TD - PF

Wed 30th Mar - Kesgrave W.I. - TD - PF

 

April

Fri 1st April  – Tendring Dist U3A – TD – Frinton (morning) - PF

Fri 1st April  – Tendring Dist U3A – TD – Holland-on-Sea (afternoon) - PF

Sat 2nd April - Melford Bull Ramblers - TD - PF

Tues 5th April - Onehouse Local History Group - TD - PF

Wed 6th April - Haughley W.I. - TD  - PF

Thurs 7th April - BBC Radio Suffolk - 3.15pm

Fri 8th April - Milden Village Hall - TD - OTP

Sat 9th April - Melton Old Church - TD - PF

Mon 11th April -  Bishop's Stortford U3A – HOSE– PF

Tues 12th April - Mauldon W.I. (Beds) - HOSE - PF

Tues 19th April - Mildenhall W.I. - TD - PF

Wed 20th April - Higham & Rushden U3A - HOSE - PF

Thurs 21st April – Old Buckenham W.I – HOSE – PF

Sun 24th April - Snape Maltings - SSC - OTP

Tues 26th April - Benfleet U3A - HOSE - PF

Thurs 28th April - W.I. Dove Group - TD - PF

Sat 30th April - Read Easy Ipswich - HOSE - PF

 

May

Thurs 5th May - Walberswick W.I. - HOSE - PF

Fri 6th May -  Ilketshall St Andrew - TD - OTP

Sat 7th May - Lower Layham  - TD - PF

Mon 9th May - Blo Norton LHG - TD - PF

Thurs 12th May - Great Bentley - HOSE - PF

Fri 13th May - Holbrook Society - TD - OTP

Thurs 19th May - St Mary's Fellowship - Bocking - TD - PF

Fri 20th May - Harwich Electrical Palace - TD - PF

Mon 23th May - East Suffolk U3A - HOS - PF

Sat 28th May - Chilton Church, Sudbury - TD - OTP

 

June

Sat 4th June - Roding Rotary Club - Eccentric Look at Spoken English - PF

Tues 7th june  - Stowmarket Probus Club - HOSE - PF

Wed 8th June  - Writtle Evening W.I. - HOS - PF

Thurs 9th June - BSE Probus 3 - TD - PF

Fri 17th June - Felixstowe Arts Centre - Suffolk Day Talk - OTP

Tues 21st June - Quay Theatre Sudbury  - TD  - OTP

Wed 22nd June - MDM Birthday - ADT - PF

Fri 24th June - Friends in Bereavement - Stowmarket - TD - PF

Mon 27th June - Southwold Arts Festival - TD - OTP

 

July

Wed 6th July - South Woodham Ferrers U3A - HOSE - PF

Thurs 7th July - Ipswich & Suffolk Club - TD - PF

Mon 11th July - Buntingford U3A - HOSE - PF

Wed 13th July  - Ware U3A - HOS - PF  - afternoon

Mon 18th July - Sudbury QH W.I. - ELS - PF

Tues 19th July - St Neot's U3A - HOSE - PF

Tues 20th July - Ely Cathedral - PF

Thurs 21st July- Watton U3A - HOS - PF

Mon 25th July - Hutton U3A - ELC - PF

Wed 27th July - Sainsbury's Veterans - HOSE - PF

 

September

Fri 2nd Sept -  Burnham-on-Crouch U3A - HOSE - PF

Fri 9th Sept - Bures Darby & Joan - TD - PF

Wed 14th Sept  - Little Waldingfield Hist. Soc. - TD - PF

Thurs 15th Sept - Tiptree U3A - TD - PF

Wed 21st Cornards & Chilton HC - TD - PF

Thurs 29th Sept - Thetford U3A - TD - PF

 

October

Wed 5th Oct - Lavenham Society - TD - PF

Thurs 6th Oct - Felixstowe Landguard Rotary - ADT - PF

Wed 12th Oct - Stour Valley U3A - TD - PF

Tues 18th Oct- Upminster U3A - HOSE-2 - PF

Thurs 20th Oct - Alton Belles W.I. - TD - PF

Fri 21st Oct - Trafalgar Day Talk - Shotley Peninsular - PF

Wed 26th Oct - Rickinghall Heritage Circle - TD - PF

Fri 28th October - Bungay Flower Club - TD - PF

 

November

Wed 9th Nov - Havering U3A - TD - PF

Sat 12th Nov - Foxearth & Dist. LHS - HOSE - PF

Mon 14th Nov -  Bishop's Stortford U3A – HOS– PF

Thurs 17th Nov - Butley W.I. - TD - PF 

Tues 22nd Nov - Fressingfield LH & AG - TD - PF

 

December

Wed 14th Dec - Beccles U3A - HOSE - PF (morning)

Wed 14th Dec - Chelmsford & Dist. NT - TD - PF (evening)

Thurs 15th Dec - Garboldisham History Soc. - TBA - PF

 

 

2023

January

Tues 24th Jan - Sudbury U3A - TD - PF

 

February

Mon 13th Feb - W Suffolk NHS Retirement Fellowship - ELS - PF

Thurs 16th Feb - Upminster Wine & Social Club - HOSE - PF

Fri 17th Feb - Beacon Wine Circle - TD - PF

 

Key

TD - Charlie and "The Dig"

HOSE - History of Spoken English

HOSE-2  - History of Spoken English - Part 2

HOS – History of Surnames

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

ELC – Eccentric Look at the Countryside

ADS – After Dinner Speech

OTP – Open to the Public