Charlie is a tireless performer with a commanding stage presence. He has a number of different shows and talks, including his classic all evening, “Eccentric Look at Suffolk”. He has other shows that you might wish to book him for:

History of English Surnames

Charlie will talk about the Anglo-Saxon and Viking bynames and nicknames we had prior to the Norman Conquest. He will explain how and why surnames evolved after 1066 AD, and the disruption it caused. Charlie then enlightens the audience on the four different types of surnames which includes explaining the meanings of some of the surnames sitting in the audience.

This will be followed by Q&A

History of spoken English

This is not a talk on split infinitives, and what the differences are between the past participle and the past tense. Definitely not! Charlie shows how the seeds of spoken English was first sown, and how each invading force affected the English language with the different sounds they brought. Charlie includes a dialect tour of the British Isles, demonstrating the different facial expressions of each dialect. He also shows how some people he knows that lip read can tell what dialect a person has.

Check here to find out where Charlie is performing in 2019/20. We'll be giving more information over time.

2019 - 2020 Bookings

Key

HOSE - History of Spoken English

HOSE-2 - History of Spoken English - Part 2

HOS – History of Surnames

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

ELC – Eccentric Look at the Countryside

ADS – After Dinner Speech

OTP – Open to the Public

PF – Private Function

 

2019 - 2020

March

Tues 5th Mar – Thetford Rotary – ADS - PF

Thurs 7th Mar – BBC Radio Suffolk – 1.30pm to 2.30pm

Fri 8th March - Bramford Music Night - OTP

Sat 9th Mar – Cabaret Lunch – Sudbury – ADS – PF

Tues 12th Mar – Tuddenham W.I – HOSE – PF

Thurs 14th Mar – Buckhurst Hill U3A – HOSE – PF (afternoon)

Thurs 14th Mar – Eden-Rose Community – The Granary, Sudbury – (evening)

Fri 15th Mar – Eden-Rose Community – Quay Place, Ipswich -(evening)

Tues 19th Mar – Abingdon Forget-me-not – HOS - PF

Thurs 21st Mar – Old Ram Tractor Club – ELSE - PF

Fri 22nd Mar – St Mary & St Edward Church, W. Hanningfield – HOSE – OTP Wed 27th March – Lavenham & District Theatre Group – AGM Talk

 

April

Wed 3rd April – Barton Mills Wednesday Club – HOSE - PF

Thurs 4th April – BBC Radio Suffolk – 1.30pm to 2.30pm

Mon 8th April – Carousel Ladies' Club – Cranham – HOSE - PF

Tues 9th April – A Get Together - Methodist Church – Museum St. Ipswich - HOSE

Fri 12th April – Limebrook Maldon U3A – HOSE - PF

Sat 20th April – Harkstead Farmers' Market – 9am to 12 noon

Fri 26th April – Skulduggery in Stowmarket - OTP

Sat 27th April - Felixtowe Arts Center - Opening Celebration

 

May

Wed 1st May – Thurrock Antiques Collectors' Club – HOSE - PF

Thurs 2nd May– BBC Radio Suffolk – 1.30pm to 2.30pm

Mon 13th May - Dengie and District U3A - HOSE - PF

Wed 15th May – Haverhill Owls W.I. - HOSE – PF

Thurs 16th May - Stock Harvard W.I. - HOSE – PF

Thurs 23rdMay – Hawkwell Village U3A – HOSE – PF

Fri 24th May – TASC – Stratford St Andrew – ELS - OTP

 

June

Wed 5th June – Haughley W.I. - HOS - PF

Thurs 6th June - Suffolk Vol Conference - Creative Poetry - PF

Wed 19th June– Quay Theatre, Sudbury – HOSE – OTP

Fri 21st June – Sir John Mills Theatre – Evening with Charlie Haylock - OTP

Sat 22nd June – Stowmarket Bell Project – HOSE (Suffolk) - OTP

Thurs 27th June – Wheathampstead U3A – HOSE-2 – PF

Sat 29th June – Gestingthorpe LHG – HOSE-2 – PF

July

Wed 3rd July – Bedford U3A – HOS - PF

Mon 15th July – Beccles Probus – HOSE – PF (morning)

Mon 15th July – Sible Hedingham W.I. - HOSE - PF (evening)

Thurs 18th July – Bramford History Group – HOSE - PF

Fri 26th July – Woodlands Cottage – PF

 

August

Sun 4th Aug – The Cornard's Return – Private Party - PF


September

Wed 4th Sept - Young at Heart – Mountnessing VH - CM15 0UA - 10am - PF

Thurs 5th Sept – Wilstead W.I. - HOSE - PF

Fri 13th Sept – Oddfellows – Stoke by Nayland GC – ADS - PF

Wed 18th Sept – Cornards & Chilton Hort. Soc, - ELS - PF

Fri 20th Sept – Leiston Film Theatre Support Group – ELS - OTP

 

October

Thurs 3rd October – Stanstead History Club – HOS - PF

Sat 5th Oct – Brandeston Village Hall – TBA - PF

Fri 11th Oct – Bures Derby & Joan Club – HOS - PF

Tues 15th Oct – Upminster U3A – HOS - PF

Thurs 24th Oct – Beacon Wine Circle – Wickham Bishops – HOSE - PF

 

November 

Mon 11th Nov - Suffolk West NHS Retirement Fellowship – Horringer – HOS - PF

Wed 13th Nov – West Bergholt History Group – HOS - PF

Thurs 14th Nov – Stanford-le-Hope U3A – HOS – PF

Sat 16th Nov – Bruisyard Village Hall – ELS - OTP

Thurs 21st Nov – Stanstead U3A – ELC - PF

Tues 26th Nov – Suffolk FHS of Sudbury – HOSE – PF

 

December

Wed 4th Dec – Colne Valley Probus – ADS - PF

Thurs 12th Dec – Blackbourne U3A – HOSE - PF

Sat 14th Dec – Essex Soc. Family History  – ELC - PF

Thurs 19th Dec – Tiptree U3A – Christmas Meeting – PF

 

2020

January

Thurs 9th Jan – Leigh-on-Sea U3A – HOSE - PF

Fri 17th Jan – Havering Antique Collectors Club – HOSE-2 - PF

Thurs 23rd Jan – Watton U3A – HOSE – PF

 

February

Wed 5th Feb – Harwich Guild – HOSE-2

Wed 12th Feb – Havering U3A – HOSE - PF

Thurs 20th Feb – Halstead Local Hist. Soc. - ELEA - PF

 

March

Fri 13th Mar – Stanway U3A – HOS - PF



April

Wed 8th April – Felixstowe FHS & Museum – HOSE-2 - PF

Mon 13th April - Bishop's Stortford U3A – HOSE – PF

Thurs 16th April – Old Buckenham W.I – HOSE – PF

Tues 21st April – Waltham Forest U3A – HOS– PF

Tues 28th April – Diss Ladies' Luncheon Club – HOSE pt 2 - PF

 

May

Mon 18th May – Hutton U3A – ELEA - PF

Tues May 19th – St Neot's U3A – HOSE - PF

Mon 25th May – East Suffolk U3A – HOSE - PF

 

October

Tues 6th Oct – Halstead U3A – HOS – PF

 

November

Mon 9th Nov - Bishop's Stortford U3A – HOS - PF

Tues 17th Nov – Waltham Forest U3A – HOSE-2 – PF

 

December

Wed 2nd Dec – Westerfield & Dist. Gardening Club – HOS – PF

 

Key

HOSE - History of Spoken English

HOSE-2 - History of Spoken English - Part 2

HOS – History of Surnames

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

ELC – Eccentric Look at the Countryside

ADS – After Dinner Speech

OTP – Open to the Public

PF – Private Function