Charlie is a tireless performer with a commanding stage presence. He has a number of different shows and talks, including his classic all evening, “Eccentric Look at Suffolk”. He has other shows that you might wish to book him for:

History of English Surnames

Charlie will talk about the Anglo-Saxon and Viking bynames and nicknames we had prior to the Norman Conquest. He will explain how and why surnames evolved after 1066 AD, and the disruption it caused. Charlie then enlightens the audience on the four different types of surnames which includes explaining the meanings of some of the surnames sitting in the audience.

This will be followed by Q&A

History of spoken English

This is not a talk on split infinitives, and what the differences are between the past participle and the past tense. Definitely not! Charlie shows how the seeds of spoken English was first sown, and how each invading force affected the English language with the different sounds they brought. Charlie includes a dialect tour of the British Isles, demonstrating the different facial expressions of each dialect. He also shows how some people he knows that lip read can tell what dialect a person has.

Check here to find out where Charlie is performing in 2017/18. We'll be giving more information over time.

2017 - 2018 Bookings

Key

IMS – In a Manner of Speaking – The Story of Spoken English

ADS After Dinner Speech

ELCEccentric Look at Countryside

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

HOS – History of Surnames

OTP – Open to the Public

PF – Private Function

 

2017

April

Sat 1st April – Waterstones, Ipswich – 11am to 1pm: New Book Launch - Book Signing Session & Cartoon Workshop

Tues 4th April – Laxfield Royal Oak – jamming session

Tues 4th April – Tolleshunt d'Arcy W.I. – IMS - PF

Thurs 6th April – BBC Radio Suffolk – 2pm to 3pm

Sat 8th April – Waterstones, Bury St Edmunds – 11am to 1pm: New Book Launch - Book Signing Session & Cartoon Workshop

Tues 11th April – Over 60's Bury St Edmunds - Newbury Comm Centre - ELS

Wed 12th April – Swaffham W.I. - HOS - PF

Tues 18th April – Laxfield Royal Oak – jamming session

Thur 20 April – Leigh Estuary U3A – IMS - PF

Mon 24th April – Hitchin U3A – HOS - PF

Tues 25th April – Diss & Dist. Ladies' Lunch Club – IMS - PF

Thurs 27th April – Wheathampstead U3A – IMS – PF

Fri 28th April – Bulmer Village Hall – HOS - OTP

May

Thurs 4th May – BBC Radio Suffolk – 2pm to 3pm

Thurs 4th May – Thurston Library – ELS – OTP

Sat 6th May – Gestingthorpe History Clup – HOS - OTP

Thurs 11th May – St Osyth Historical Society – HOS - PF

Sat 13th May - 50th Birthday Party – Edwardstone WH - PF

Tues 16th May – BSE Tuesday Probus – HOS - PF

Mon 22nd May – Harlow U3A – HOS - PF

Fri 26th May - Thorpe Bay U3A (Essex) – ELC - PF


June

Thurs 1st June – CLA after breakfast talk – PF – Suffolk Show

Thurs 1st June – BBC Radio Suffolk – 2pm to 3pm

Sat 3rd June - Purleigh Church – Purleigh, Essex – HOS – OTP

Sun 4th June – Help for Heroes Concert – The Apex – compère

Fri 9th June – Woolpit Festival – IMS - OTP

Tues 14th June – Earl's Colne W.I. - IMS - PF

Tues 20th June – Dales W.I. - Carton Coleville - afternoon

Thurs 29th June - Southwold Arts Festival – Eccentric Look at Spoken English

 

July

Wed 12th July -  Brentwood Ladies' Probus – ELEA – PF

Tues 18th July – Coddenham History Club – HOS – OTP

 

August

Wed 16th Aug – Colchester PROBUS – IMS - PF

Sun 20th Aug – Hoxne Village Hall – ELS - PF

 

September

Wed 6th Sept - Blackwater U3A, Maldon – HOS – PF

Thurs 7th Sept – Wissey U3A – HOS - PF

Mon 11th Sept – Hadleigh U3A – IMS – PF

Thurs 14th Sept – Bradfield St George W.I. - IMS - PF

Sat 16th Sept – EACH – Lowestoft – IMS – ADS - PF

Thurs 21st Sept – Tiptree U3A – HOS - PF

 

October

Fri 6th Oct – Holbrook Church Poetry Evening - OTP

Tues 17th Oct – Bentley Tuesday Club – ELS - PF

Tues 17th Oct – Thurston W.I. Group Meeting – IMS – PF

Sat 14th Oct – Northumberland Ave. Methodist Church – BSE – HOS - OTP

 

November

Tues 14th Nov – Ickwell Maypole Heritage (Beds) – HOS – P

Wed 29th Nov – ESAB – Stutton VH – IMS – PF - afternoon

 

December

Thurs 14th Dec – Kirton and Falkenham Gardening Club – IMS - PF

 

2018

January

Fri 19th Jan -  The Havering Antique Collectors Club – HOS - PF

 

February

Wed 7th Feb – The Lexden History Club – HOS – church hall – PF

 

April

Thurs 19th April – Stansted U3A – HOS – PF

 

June

Wed 6th June – Haughley W.I. - IMS - PF

 

September

Mon 24th Sept – Hutton U3A – IMS Part 2 - PF

 

December

Thurs 13th Dec - Poplar Nurseries Gardening Club – Marks Tey – IMS– PFT


Key

ADS – After Dinner Speech

ELC – Eccentric Look at Countryside

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

IMS – In a Manner of Speaking – The Story of Spoken English

HOSS – History of Suffolk Surnames

HOS – History of Surnames

OTP – Open to the Public

PF – Private Function