Charlie is a tireless performer with a commanding stage presence. He has a number of different shows and talks, including his classic all evening, “Eccentric Look at Suffolk”. He has other shows that you might wish to book him for:

History of English Surnames

Charlie will talk about the Anglo-Saxon and Viking bynames and nicknames we had prior to the Norman Conquest. He will explain how and why surnames evolved after 1066 AD, and the disruption it caused. Charlie then enlightens the audience on the four different types of surnames which includes explaining the meanings of some of the surnames sitting in the audience.

This will be followed by Q&A

History of spoken English

This is not a talk on split infinitives, and what the differences are between the past participle and the past tense. Definitely not! Charlie shows how the seeds of spoken English was first sown, and how each invading force affected the English language with the different sounds they brought. Charlie includes a dialect tour of the British Isles, demonstrating the different facial expressions of each dialect. He also shows how some people he knows that lip read can tell what dialect a person has.

Check here to find out where Charlie is performing in 2020/21. We'll be giving more information over time.

2020 - 2021 Bookings

Key

HOSE - History of Spoken English

HOSE-2 - History of Spoken English - Part 2

HOS – History of Surnames

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

ELC – Eccentric Look at the Countryside

ADS – After Dinner Speech

OTP – Open to the Public

PF – Private Function

 

2020 - 2021

February

Wed 5th Feb – Harwich Guild – HOSE-2

Thurs 6th Feb - BBC Radio Suffolk - 1.30pm to 2.30pm

Tues 11th Feb – Diss Family History Group – HOSE - PF

Wed 12th Feb – Havering U3A – HOSE - PF

Tues 18 Feb - Mildenhall W.I. - HOSE - PF

Thurs 20th Feb – Halstead Local Hist. Soc. - ELEA - PF

Fri 21st Feb - Duchess Theatre - MDM

Sun 23rd Feb - Woodbridge Cruising Club - ADS - PF

Mon 24th Feb – East Suffolk U3A – HOSE – PF

Thurs 27th Feb – Beacon Wine Circle – Wickham Bishops – HOSE - PF

Fri 28th Feb - Bishops Stortford U3A - HOS - PF

 

March

Thurs 5th Mar - Rayleigh U3A - ELC - PF

Sat 7th Mar - Belstead Village Market - 9.30am to 12.30pm

Sat 7th Mar - Whitton Parish Annual Dinner - ADT - PF

Mon 9th Mar - Dengie U3A- HOS - PF

Tues 10th Mar - Barking Tye and Ringshall W.I. - HOSE - PF

Thurs 12th Mar - BBC Radio Suffolk - 1.30pm to 2.30pm

Thurs 12th Mar - Stradbroke W.I. - HOSE - PF

Fri 13th Mar – Stanway U3A – HOS - PF

Thurs 19th Mar - Old Ram Tractor Club - ELEA - PF

Fri 20th Mar - West Hanningfield Church - HOS - PF

Mon 23rd to Fri 27th - The Dig Project

Fri 27th Mar - Copdock W.I. - HOSE - PF

April

Thurs 2nd April - BBC Radio Suffolk - 1.30pm to 2.30pm

Fri 3rd April - The Dig Project

Mon 6th & Tues 7th April - The Dig Project

Wed 8th April – Felixstowe FHS & Museum – HOSE-2 - PF

Thurs 9th April - Buckhurst Hill U3A - HOS - PF

Wed 14th & Thurs 15th April - The Dig Project

Thurs 16th April – Old Buckenham W.I – HOSE – PF

Fri 17th April - The Dig Project

Sat 18th April - Melford Bull Ramblers - ELSE - PF

Mon 20th April - The Dig Project

Tues 21st April – Waltham Forest U3A – HOS– PF

Wed 22nd, Thurs 23rd & Fri 24th April - The Dig Project

Tues 28th April – Diss Ladies' Luncheon Club – HOSE pt 2 - PF

Wed 29th April - Sainsbury's Veterans - HOSE - PF

Thurs 30th April - Framlingham W.I. - HOSE - PF

 

May

Fri 1st May– Tendring Dist U3A – HOS – Frinton (morning)

Fri 1st May – Tendring Dist U3A – HOS– Holland-on-Sea (afternoon)

Tues 5th May - Townswomen's Guild - Hadleigh, Essex - HOS

Wed 6th May - Thurrock Antiques Collectors' Club – HOS – PF

Fri 8th May - Stansfield VE Day - HOS - PF

Fri 15th May - Stanwick W.I. - HOSE - PF

Mon 18th May – Hutton U3A – ELEA - PF

Tues May 19th – St Neot's U3A – HOSE - PF

Tues 26th May - Watford Park U3A - HOSE - PF

June

Thurs 18th June - Stock Harvard W.I. - HOS – PF

Fri 19th June - Two Sisters Theatre, Felixstowe - Suffolk Day Talk - OTP

Sun 21st June - Quay Theatre Sudbury - Suffolk Day Talk - OTP

Mon 22nd June - Suffolk Day Party - MDM

Wed 24th June – Chorleywood U3A – HOSE - PF

Thurs 25th June - Jubilee Hall, Mildenhall - Suffolk Day Talk - OTP

Fri 26th June - Southwold Arts Festival - Suffolk Day Talk - OTP

 

July

Fri 3rd July - St Mary the Virgin - Lakenheath - HOSE - OTP

Wed 8th July - Baddow & Galleywood U3A - HOSE - PF

Thurs 16th July - Upminster Wine & Social Club - HOSE - PF

Tues 21st July - Benfleet U3A - HOSE - PF

 

September

Wed 2nd Sept - SASU - Colchester - HOSE - PF

Thurs 3rd Sept – Stanstead History Club – HOS – PF

Wed 9th Sept - Ware U3A - HOS - PF

Thurs 10th Sept - Wickham Mkt W.I. - HOSE - PF

Fri 11th Sept - Limebrook U3A - HOS - PF

Mon 21st Sept - Sible Hedingham W.I. - HOS

Wed 23rd Sept - Needham Market Society - HOS - PF

Fri 25th Sept - Yaxley Village Hall - HOSE - OTP

Mon 28th Sept - Dalham and Gazeley W.I. - HOS - PF

 

October

Sat 3rd Oct - Melton Old Church - HOSE - OTP

Tues 6th Oct – Halstead U3A – HOS – PF

Thurs 8th Oct – Haverhill FHG – HOSE - PF

Fri 9th Oct – Bures Darby & Joan Club – HOSE – PF

Mon 12th Oct – Suffolk West NHS Retirement Fellowship – ELS – PF

Wed 14th Oct - Chelmsford NT - HOS - PF

Thurs 22nd Oct - NHS Retirment Fellowship - Basildon - HOSE - PF

Fri 23rd Oct - Carleton Rode Hist Group - HOSE - PF

 

November

Wed 4th Nov - Broadway Belles W.I. - Leigh-on-Sea - HOSE - PF

Mon 9th Nov - Bishop's Stortford U3A – HOS - PF

Wed 11th Nov - Writtle Evening W.I. - HOSE - PF

Tues 17th Nov – Waltham Forest U3A – HOSE-2 – PF

 

December

Wed 2nd Dec – Westerfield & Dist. Gardening Club – HOS – PF

Mon 7th Dec - Blackbourne U3A - HOS - PF

Wed 9th Dec - Fobbing Ladies Lunch Club - HOS - PF

Tues 15th Dec - Bury St Edmunds U3A - HOSE-2 - PF



2021

January

Tues 19th Jan - Upminster U3A - HOSE-2

 

February

Tues 9th Feb - Maulden W.I. (Beds) - HOSE - PF

Wed 10th Feb - Havering U3A - HOS - PF

Wed 17th Feb - Redbourne U3A - Herts - HOSE - PF


May

Thurs 13th May 2021 - Stanford-le-Hope U3A - HOS - PF

Thurs 27th May - Watton U3A - HOS - PF

 

Key

HOSE - History of Spoken English

HOSE-2 - History of Spoken English - Part 2

HOS – History of Surnames

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

ELC – Eccentric Look at the Countryside

ADS – After Dinner Speech

OTP – Open to the Public

PF – Private Function