Charlie is a tireless performer with a commanding stage presence. He has a number of different shows and talks, including his classic all evening, “Eccentric Look at Suffolk”. He has other shows that you might wish to book him for:

History of English Surnames

Charlie will talk about the Anglo-Saxon and Viking bynames and nicknames we had prior to the Norman Conquest. He will explain how and why surnames evolved after 1066 AD, and the disruption it caused. Charlie then enlightens the audience on the four different types of surnames which includes explaining the meanings of some of the surnames sitting in the audience.

This will be followed by Q&A

History of spoken English

This is not a talk on split infinitives, and what the differences are between the past participle and the past tense. Definitely not! Charlie shows how the seeds of spoken English was first sown, and how each invading force affected the English language with the different sounds they brought. Charlie includes a dialect tour of the British Isles, demonstrating the different facial expressions of each dialect. He also shows how some people he knows that lip read can tell what dialect a person has.

Check here to find out where Charlie is performing in 2019/20. We'll be giving more information over time.

2019 - 2020 Bookings

Key

HOSE - History of Spoken English

HOSE-2 - History of Spoken English - Part 2

HOS – History of Surnames

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

ELC – Eccentric Look at the Countryside

ADS – After Dinner Speech

OTP – Open to the Public

PF – Private Function

 

2019 - 2020


October

Sat 5th Oct - Belstead Village Market - 10am to 1pm

Fri 11th Oct – Bures Derby & Joan Club – HOS - PF

Tues 15th Oct – Upminster U3A – HOS - PF

Fri 18th Oct – Evergreens – Sandy, Beds – HOSE - PF

Sat 19th Oct - Harkstead Farmers' Market - 9am to 12 noon

Fri 25th Oct - Onehouse Community Centre - ELS - OTP

 

November 

Fri 1st Nov - Tendring Dist U3A - HOSE - Frinton (morning)

Fri 1st Nov - Tendring Dist U3A - HOSE - Holland-on-Sea (afternoon)

Sat 2nd Nov - Belstead Village Market - 10am to 1pm

Thurs 7th Nov - BBC Radio Suffolk - 1.30pm to 2.30pm

Thurs 7th Nov – Thundridge & High Cross Society – HOS - PF

Mon 11th Nov - Suffolk West NHS Retirement Fellowship – Horringer – HOS - PF

Wed 13th Nov – West Bergholt History Group – HOS - PF

Thurs 14th Nov – Stanford-le-Hope U3A – HOS – PF

Sat 16th Nov - Harkstead Farmers' Market - 9am to 12 noon

Sat 16th Nov – Bruisyard Village Hall – ELS - OTP

Thurs 21st Nov – Stanstead U3A – ELC - PF

Fri 22nd Nov - Alde & Ore Estuary Quiz - Blaxhall Ship - evening

Sat 23rd Nov - Knights Templar Banquet - ADT - PF

Tues 26th Nov – Suffolk FHS of Sudbury – HOSE – PF

Wed 27th Nov - Suffolk Orchid Society - HOSE - PF

 

December

Wed 4th Dec – Colne Valley Probus – ADS - PF

Thurs 5th Dec - BBC Radio Suffolk - 1.30pm to 2.30pm

Sat 7th Dec - Belstead Village Market - 10am to 1pm

Wed 11th Dec - Fobbing Ladies Lunch. Club - After Lunch Talk - PF

Thurs 12th Dec – Blackbourne U3A – HOSE - PF (morning)

Thurs 12th Dec Halesworth and Dist GC - HOSE - PF (evening)

Sat 14th Dec- Harkstead Farmers' Market - 9am to 12 noon

Sat 14th Dec – Essex Soc. Family History  – ELC - PF

Tues 17th Dec – Bury St Edmunds U3A - HOS – PF

Thurs 19th Dec – Tiptree U3A – Christmas Meeting – PF

 

2020

January

Sat 4th Jan – East London FHS – HOSE - PF

Thurs 9th Jan – Leigh-on-Sea U3A – HOSE - PF

Tues 14th January – Debenham History Society – HOSE - PF

Wed 15th Jan - Cornards and Chilton Hort. Society - ELS - PF

Fri 17th Jan – Havering Antique Collectors Club – HOSE-2 - PF

Tues 21st Jan - Felixstowe Master Mariners - ADS - PF

Thurs 23rd Jan – Watton U3A – HOSE – PF

 

February

Sat 1st Feb - Whitton Parish Annual Dinner - ADT - PF

Wed 5th Feb – Harwich Guild – HOSE-2

Tues 11th Feb – Diss Family History Group – HOSE - PF

Wed 12th Feb – Havering U3A – HOSE - PF

Tues 18 Feb - Mildenhall W.I. - HOSE - PF

Thurs 20th Feb – Halstead Local Hist. Soc. - ELEA - PF

Mon 24th Feb – East Suffolk U3A – HOSE – PF

Thurs 27th Feb – Beacon Wine Circle – Wickham Bishops – HOSE - PF

Fri 28th Feb - Bishops Stortford U3A - HOS - PF

 

March

Thurs 5th Mar - Rayleigh U3A - ELC - PF

Tues 10th Mar - Barking Tye and Ringshall W.I. - HOSE - PF

Thurs 12th Mar - Stradbroke W.I. - HOSE - PF

Fri 13th Mar – Stanway U3A – HOS - PF

Fri 20th Mar - West Hanningfield Church - HOS - PF



April

Wed 8th April – Felixstowe FHS & Museum – HOSE-2 - PF

Thurs 16th April – Old Buckenham W.I – HOSE – PF

Mon 20th April - Bishop's Stortford U3A – HOSE – PF

Tues 21st April – Waltham Forest U3A – HOS– PF

Tues 28th April – Diss Ladies' Luncheon Club – HOSE pt 2 - PF

Wed 29th April - Sainsbury's Veterans - HOSE - PF

Thurs 30th April - Framlingham W.I. - HOSE - PF

 

May

Wed 6th May - Thurrock Antiques Collectors' Club – HOS – PF

Fri 15th May - Stanwick W.I. - HOSE - PF

Mon 18th May – Hutton U3A – ELEA - PF

Tues May 19th – St Neot's U3A – HOSE - PF

Tues 26th May - Watford Park U3A - HOSE - PF

 

June

Thurs 18th June - Stock Harvard W.I. - HOS – PF

Sun 21st June - Quay Theatre Sudbury - Suffolk Day Talk - OTP

Wed 24th June – Chorleywood U3A – HOSE - PF

 

July

Wed 8th July - Baddow & Galleywood U3A - HOSE - PF

Thurs 16th July - Upminster Wine & Social Club - HOSE - PF

Tues 21st July - Benfleet U3A - HOSE - PF

 

September

Thurs 3rd Sept – Stanstead History Club – HOS – PF

Wed 9th Sept - Ware U3A - HOS - PF

Thurs 10th Sept - Wickham Mkt W.I. - HOSE - PF

Fri 11th Sept - Limebrook U3A - HOS - PF

Mon 21st Sept - Sible Hedingham W.I. - HOS

Wed 23rd Sept - Needham Market Society - HOS - PF

 

October

Tues 6th Oct – Halstead U3A – HOS – PF

Thurs 8th Oct – Haverhill FHG – HOSE - PF

Fri 9th Oct – Bures Darby & Joan Club – HOSE – PF

Thurs 22nd Oct - NHS Retirment Fellowship - Basildon - HOSE - PF

 

November

Mon 9th Nov - Bishop's Stortford U3A – HOS - PF

Wed 11th Nov - Writtle Evening W.I. - HOSE - PF

Tues 17th Nov – Waltham Forest U3A – HOSE-2 – PF

 

December

Wed 2nd Dec – Westerfield & Dist. Gardening Club – HOS – PF

 

Key

HOSE - History of Spoken English

HOSE-2 - History of Spoken English - Part 2

HOS – History of Surnames

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

ELC – Eccentric Look at the Countryside

ADS – After Dinner Speech

OTP – Open to the Public

PF – Private Function