Charlie is a tireless performer with a commanding stage presence. He has a number of different shows and talks, including his classic all evening, “Eccentric Look at Suffolk”. He has other popular shows that you might wish to book him for:

NEW TALK!!!

Charlie was personally chosen by the great Ralph Fiennes to be the dialect coach for the wonderful Netflix film The Dig. Charlie has created a fascinating new talk about his experiences preparing Ralph and the cast for their roles and Charlie will reveal the extraordinary lengths Ralph Fiennes took, not only to play Basil Brown, but to become Basil Brown!

History of spoken English

This is not a talk on split infinitives, and what the differences are between the past participle and the past tense. Definitely not! Charlie shows how the seeds of spoken English was first sown, and how each invading force affected the English language with the different sounds they brought. Charlie includes a dialect tour of the British Isles, demonstrating the different facial expressions of each dialect. He also shows how some people he knows that lip read can tell what dialect a person has.

 

 

History of English Surnames

Charlie will talk about the Anglo-Saxon and Viking bynames and nicknames we had prior to the Norman Conquest. He will explain how and why surnames evolved after 1066 AD, and the disruption it caused. Charlie then enlightens the audience on the four different types of surnames which includes explaining the meanings of some of the surnames sitting in the audience.

This will be followed by Q&A

 

IMPORTANT!

Due to Covid 19 restrictions, many of Charlie's engagements in early 2021 have been postponed - except for his monthly chat on BBC Radio Suffolk, (which he does from home).

But, many organisations are starting to re-book their Charlie Haylock talks for later in 2021 . . . and Yes ! . . with some bookings in 2022 !

Charlie will be glad when we are given the "All Clear" and he can be on the road again doing what he likes doing best . . . standing in front of an audience delivering his informative and entertaining talks.

 

2021 - 2022 Bookings

Key

TD - Charlie and "The Dig"

HOSE - History of Spoken English

HOSE-2 - History of Spoken English - Part 2

HOS – History of Surnames

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

ELC – Eccentric Look at the Countryside

ADS – After Dinner Speech

OTP – Open to the Public

PF – Private Function

 

2021 - 2022

2021

September

Wed 1st Sept - Broadway Belles W.I. - Leigh-on-Sea - HOSE - PF (evening)

Thurs 2nd Sept - BBC Radio Suffolk - 3.30pm

Mon 6th Sept - The Hadleigh Gang - BBC Look East

Wed 8th Sept - West Bergholt Hist. Group - TD - PF

Thurs 9th Sept - New Wolsey Theatre - Rehearsals

Thurs 9th Sept - Wickham Mkt W.I. - TD - PF

Mon 13th Sept - Cathedral Canons' Conference - BSE - HOSE - PF

Tues 14th Sept - North Cove & Barnby W.I. - HOSE- PF

Wed 15th Sept - New Wolsey Theatre - Rehearsals

Wed 15th Sept - Beccles U3A - TD - PF

Thurs 16th Sept - Stock Harvard W.I. - HOS - PF

Sat 18th Sept - Harkstead Farmers' Market - 9 to 12 noon

Sat 18th Sept - All Saints Church, Holbrook - TD - OTP

Mon 20th Sept - Melton W.I. - TD - PF

Fri 24th Sept - Mildenhall Workhouse Voice-over - PF

Sat 25th Sept - St Mary & St Botolph, Whitton  - TD - PF

 

October

Sat 2nd Oct - Melton Old Church - HOSE - OTP

Tues 5th Oct – Halstead U3A – HOS – PF

Thurs 7th Oct - BBC Radio Suffolk -  3.15pm

Thurs 7th Oct - Stanstead History Club - HOS - PF

Fri 8th Oct - Stanway U3A - TD - PF

Fri 8th Oct - St Mary's Woolpit - TD - OTP

Sat 9th Oct - West Hanningfield Church - HOS - PF

Wed 13th Oct - Shottisham W.I. - TD - PF

Fri 15th Oct - Glemsford W.I. - TD - OTP

Sat 16th Oct - Harkstead Farmers' Market - 9 to 12 noon

Mon 18th Oct - Sible Hedingham W.I. - HOS

Tues 19th Oct - Waltham Forest U3A - HOS - PF

Thurs 21st Oct - Trafalgar Day Talk - Shotley Peninsula - PF

Fri 22nd Oct - Beacon Wine Circle - HOS - PF

Sat 23rd Oct - Royal Harwich YC - TD - PF

Fri 29th Oct – Bures Darby & Joan Club – HOSE – PF

 

November

Tues 2nd Nov -  Southwold Museum and Historical Soc. - HOSE - PF

Wed 3rd Nov - Chelmsford & Dist. NT - HOS - PF

Thurs 4th Nov - BBC Radio Suffolk - 3.15pm

Sat 6th Nov - Stansfield Village Hall  - TD - OTP

Mon 8th Nov –W Suffolk NHS Retirement Fellowship - TD - PF

Wed 10th Nov - Writtle Evening W.I. - HOSE - PF

Thurs 11th Nov - Elmswell History Group - TD - OTP

Fri 12th Nov - Westhorpe VH - TD - OTP

Thur 18th Nov - Old Ram Tractor Club - TG - PF

Fri 19th Nov - Carleton Rode Hist Group - HOSE - PF 

Sat 20th Nov - Harkstead Farmers' Market - 9 to 12 noon

Sat 20th Nov - Birch Grove GC - 80th Birthday - PF

Mon 22nd Nov - Bramford History Club - HOS - PF

Sat 27th Nov - Stowlangtoft Church - TD - OTP

 

December

Wed  1st Dec – Westerfield & Dist. Gardening Club – TD – PF

Thurs 2nd Dec - BBC Radio Suffolk - 3.15pm

Sat 4th Dec - Walberswick Local Hist Group - TD - PF

Sun 5th Dec - Leiston Film Theatre - TD - OTP

Mon 6th Dec - Blackbourne U3A - HOS - PF

Wed 8th Dec - Felixstowe FHS & Museum – TD

Thurs 9th Dec - Stanford-le-Hope U3A - HOS - PF

Tues 14th Dec - Bacton Historical Society - TD - PF

Sat 18th Dec - Harkstead Farmers' Market - 9 to 12 noon

 

 

2022

January

Fri 7th Jan  – Tendring Dist U3A – HOS – Frinton (morning) - PF

Fri 7th Jan  – Tendring Dist U3A – HOS– Holland-on-Sea (afternoon) - PF

Thurs 13th Jan - Buckhurst U3A - HOS - PF

Tues 18th Jan - Bury St Edmunds U3A - TD - PF

Wed 19th Jan - Stowmarket U3A - TD - PF

Thurs 20th Jan - Upminster Wine & Social Club - HOSE - PF

Wed 26th Jan - Sainsbury's Veterans - HOSE - PF

Thurs 27th Jan - Felixstowe Landguard Rotary - ADT - PF

 

 

February

Thurs 3rd Feb - Woodbridge Society - TD - PF

Wed 9th Feb  - Ware U3A - HOS - PF  

Mon 14th Feb - Hadleigh U3A - TD - PF

Wed 16th Feb - Framlingham History Society - TD - PF

Thurs 17th Feb - Henley W.I. - TD  - PF

Tues 22nd Feb - Watford Park U3A - HOSE - PF

Wed 23rd Feb  – Chorleywood U3A – HOSE - PF

 

 

March

Thurs 3rd Mar - Wissey U3A  - TD - PF

Sat 5th Mar - Brockley Village Hall - TD - OTP

Tuesday, 8th Mar   - Maulden W.I.  (Beds) - HOSE - PF

Wed 9th Mar - Havering U3A - HOS - PF

Tues 15th Mar - Waltham Forest U3A - HOSE-pt2 - PF

Sat 19th Mar - Burston Church - Norfolk - HOSE - OTP

Tues 29th Mar - Earl Soham W.I. - TD - PF

 

April

Sat 2nd April - Melford Bull Ramblers - ELSE - PF

Sat 5th Mar - Brockley Village Hall - TD - OTP

Wed 6th April - Haughley W.I. - TD  - PF

Mon 11th April -  Bishop's Stortford U3A – HOSE– PF

Thurs 21st April – Old Buckenham W.I – HOSE – PF

Wed 20th April - Higham & Rushden U3A - HOSE - PF

Tues 26th April - Benfleet U3A - HOSE - PF

Thurs 28th April - W.I. Dove Group - TD - PF

 

May

Thurs 5th May - Walberswick W.I. - HOSE - PF

Sat 7th May - Lower Layham  - TD - PF

Mon 9th May - Blo Norton LHG - TD - PF

Thurs 12th May - Great Bentley - HOSE - PF

Fri 13th May - Holbrook Society - TD - OTP

Mon 23th May - East Suffolk U3A - HOS - PF

 

June

Sat 4th June - Roding Rotary Club - Eccentric Look at Spoken English - PF

Tues 21st June - Quay Theatre Sudbury  - TD  - OTP

 

July

Fri 1st July - Southwold Arts Festival - TD - OTP

Wed 6th July - South Woodham Ferrers U3A - HOSE - PF

Tues 19th July - St Neot's U3A - HOSE - PF

Thurs 21st July- Watton U3A - HOS - PF

Mon 25th July - Hutton U3A - ELC - PF

 

September

Wed 14th Sept  - Little Waldingfield Hist. Soc. - TD - PF

Thurs 15th Sept - Tiptree U3A - TD - PF

Thurs 29th Sept - Thetford U3A - TD - PF

 

October

Wed 12th Oct - Stour Valley U3A - TD - PF

Tues 18th Oct- Upminster U3A - HOSE-2 - PF

Thurs 20th Oct - Alton Belles W.I. - TD - PF

 

November

Wed 9th Nov - Havering U3A - TD - PF

Mon 14th Nov -  Bishop's Stortford U3A – HOS– PF

Tues 22nd Nov - Fressingfield LH & AG - TD - PF

 

 

Key

TD - Charlie and "The Dig"

HOSE - History of Spoken English

HOSE-2  - History of Spoken English - Part 2

HOS – History of Surnames

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

ELC – Eccentric Look at the Countryside

ADS – After Dinner Speech

OTP – Open to the Public