Charlie is a tireless performer with a commanding stage presence. He has a number of different shows and talks, including his classic all evening, “Eccentric Look at Suffolk”. He has other shows that you might wish to book him for:

History of English Surnames

Charlie will talk about the Anglo-Saxon and Viking bynames and nicknames we had prior to the Norman Conquest. He will explain how and why surnames evolved after 1066 AD, and the disruption it caused. Charlie then enlightens the audience on the four different types of surnames which includes explaining the meanings of some of the surnames sitting in the audience.

This will be followed by Q&A

History of spoken English

This is not a talk on split infinitives, and what the differences are between the past participle and the past tense. Definitely not! Charlie shows how the seeds of spoken English was first sown, and how each invading force affected the English language with the different sounds they brought. Charlie includes a dialect tour of the British Isles, demonstrating the different facial expressions of each dialect. He also shows how some people he knows that lip read can tell what dialect a person has.

2020 - 2022 Bookings

Key

HOSE - History of Spoken English

HOSE-2 - History of Spoken English - Part 2

HOS – History of Surnames

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

ELC – Eccentric Look at the Countryside

ADS – After Dinner Speech

OTP – Open to the Public

PF – Private Function

 

IMPORTANT! Due to coronavirus restrictions, all Charlie's engagements up to the end of July 2020 have been postponed - except for his monthly chat on BBC Radio Suffolk, (which he does from home).

But, due to the gradual easing of restrictions, and a light at the end of the tunnel, many organisations are starting to re-book their Charlie Haylock talks. . . They commence in autumn 2020 through into 2021 . . . and Yes ! . . with two bookings in 2022 !

The series of Charlie's, "Suffolk Day Talks" in June 2020 have all been postponed to June and July 2021.

Charlie will be glad when we are given the "All Clear" and he can be on the road again doing what he like doing best . . . standing in front of an audience delivering his informative and entertaining talks.

 

2020 - 2022

 

July

Thurs 2nd July - BBC Radio Suffolk - 2.30pm

 

September

Wed 2nd Sept - SASU - Colchester - HOSE - PF

Thurs 3rd Sept – Stanstead History Club – HOS – PF

Wed 9th Sept - Ware U3A - HOS - PF

Thurs 10th Sept - Wickham Mkt W.I. - HOSE - PF

Fri 11th Sept - Limebrook U3A - HOS - PF

Wed 16th Sept- Leigh Belfairs U3A - HOSE - PF

Fri 18th Sept - Glemsford W.I. - HOSE - PF

Mon 21st Sept - Sible Hedingham W.I. - HOS

Wed 23rd Sept - Needham Market Society - HOS - PF

Fri 25th Sept - Yaxley Village Hall - HOSE - OTP

Mon 28th Sept - Dalham and Gazeley W.I. - HOS - PF

 

October

Sat 3rd Oct - Melton Old Church - HOSE - OTP

Tues 6th Oct – Halstead U3A – HOS – PF

Thurs 8th Oct – Haverhill FHG – HOSE - PF

Fri 9th - West Hanningfield Church - HOS - PF

Fri 9th Oct – Bures Darby & Joan Club – HOSE – PF

Mon 12th Oct – Suffolk West NHS Retirement Fellowship – ELS – PF

Wed 14th Oct - Chelmsford NT - HOS - PF

Thurs 15th Oct - Bramford Local History - HOS - PF

Thurs 22nd Oct - NHS Retirment Fellowship - Basildon - HOSE - PF

Thurs 22nd Oct - Beacon Wine Circle (evening) - HOS - PF

Fri 23rd Oct - Carleton Rode Hist Group - HOSE - PF

 

November

Wed 4th Nov - Broadway Belles W.I. - Leigh-on-Sea - HOSE - PF

Mon 9th Nov - Bishop's Stortford U3A – HOSE – PF

Wed 11th Nov - Writtle Evening W.I. - HOSE - PF

Sat 14th Nov - Royal Harwich YC - ADS - PF

Tues 17th Nov – Waltham Forest U3A – HOSE-2 – PF

 

December

Wed 2nd Dec – Westerfield & Dist. Gardening Club – HOS – PF

Mon 7th Dec - Blackbourne U3A - HOS - PF

Wed 9th Dec - Fobbing Ladies Lunch Club - HOS - PF

Tues 15th Dec - Bury St Edmunds U3A - HOSE-2 - PF

Thurs 28th Jan - Warley U3A - HOSE

 



2021

January

Thurs 28th Jan - Warley U3A - HOSE

Tues 19th Jan - Upminster U3A - HOSE-2

Wed 27th Jan – Chorleywood U3A – HOSE - PF

 

February

Fri 5th Feb – Tendring Dist U3A – HOS – Frinton (morning)

Fri 5th Feb – Tendring Dist U3A – HOS– Holland-on-Sea (afternoon)

Tues 9th Feb - Maulden W.I. (Beds) - HOSE - PF

Wed 10th Feb - Havering U3A - HOS - PF

Wed 17th Feb - Redbourne U3A - Herts - HOSE - PF

Tues 23rd Feb - Watford Park U3A - HOSE - PF

Wed 24th Feb - Sainsbury's Veterans - HOSE - PF

 

March

Wed 10th Mar - Felixstowe FHS & Museum – HOSE-2 – PF

Sat 13th March - Brockley Village Hall - OTP

Tues 16th March - Old Ram Tractor Club - ELEA - PF

Thurs 18th March - Stock Harvard W.I. - HOS – PF

 

April

Thurs 15th April – Old Buckenham W.I – HOSE – PF

Tues 27th April - Benfleet U3A - HOSE - PF

 

May

Tues 4th May - Townswomen's Guild - Hadleigh, Essex - HOS

Thurs 13th May 2021 - Stanford-le-Hope U3A - HOS - PF

Fri 14th May - Stanwick W.I. - HOSE - PF

Mon 23rd May - East Suffolk U3A - HOS - PF

Thurs 27th May - Watton U3A - HOS - PF

 

June

Tues 15th June - Waltham Forest U3A - HOS - PF

Sun 20th June - Two Sisters Theatre, Felixstowe - Suffolk Day Talk - OTP

Mon 21st June - Quay Theatre Sudbury - Suffolk Day Talk - OTP (Tickets on sale soon ! )

Wed 23rd June – Chorleywood U3A – HOSE - PF

Thurs 24th June - Jubilee Hall, Mildenhall - Suffolk Day Talk - OTP

July

Fri 2nd July - Southwold Arts Festival - Suffolk Day Talk - OTP

 

September

Wed 1st Sept - South Woodham Ferrers U3A - HOSE - PF

 

2022

 

April

Mon 11th April - Bishop's Stortford U3A – HOS– PF

July

Tues 19th July - St Neot's U3A - HOSE - PF

Mon 25th July - Hutton U3A - ELC - PF

 

Key

HOSE - History of Spoken English

HOSE-2 - History of Spoken English - Part 2

HOS – History of Surnames

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

ELC – Eccentric Look at the Countryside

ADS – After Dinner Speech

OTP – Open to the Public

PF – Private Function