Charlie is a tireless performer with a commanding stage presence. He has a number of different shows and talks, including his classic all evening, “Eccentric Look at Suffolk”. He has other popular shows that you might wish to book him for:

NEW TALK!!!

Charlie was personally chosen by the great Ralph Fiennes to be the dialect coach for the wonderful Netflix film The Dig. Charlie has created a fascinating new talk about his experiences preparing Ralph and the cast for their roles and Charlie will reveal the extraordinary lengths Ralph Fiennes took, not only to play Basil Brown, but to become Basil Brown!

History of spoken English

This is not a talk on split infinitives, and what the differences are between the past participle and the past tense. Definitely not! Charlie shows how the seeds of spoken English was first sown, and how each invading force affected the English language with the different sounds they brought. Charlie includes a dialect tour of the British Isles, demonstrating the different facial expressions of each dialect. He also shows how some people he knows that lip read can tell what dialect a person has.

 

 

History of English Surnames

Charlie will talk about the Anglo-Saxon and Viking bynames and nicknames we had prior to the Norman Conquest. He will explain how and why surnames evolved after 1066 AD, and the disruption it caused. Charlie then enlightens the audience on the four different types of surnames which includes explaining the meanings of some of the surnames sitting in the audience.

This will be followed by Q&A

 

IMPORTANT!

Due to Covid 19 restrictions, many of Charlie's engagements in early 2021 have been postponed - except for his monthly chat on BBC Radio Suffolk, (which he does from home).

But, many organisations are starting to re-book their Charlie Haylock talks for later in 2021 . . . and Yes ! . . with some bookings in 2022 !

Charlie will be glad when we are given the "All Clear" and he can be on the road again doing what he likes doing best . . . standing in front of an audience delivering his informative and entertaining talks.

 

2021 - 2022 Bookings

Key

TD - Charlie and "The Dig"

HOSE - History of Spoken English

HOSE-2 - History of Spoken English - Part 2

HOS – History of Surnames

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

ELC – Eccentric Look at the Countryside

ADS – After Dinner Speech

OTP – Open to the Public

PF – Private Function

 

2021 - 2022

2021

 

May

Thurs 13th May - BBC Radio Suffolk - 3.30pm

 

June

Thurs 3rd June - BBC Radio Suffolk - 3.30pm

Mon 21st June - Suffolk Day Wine Launch - Shotley Vineyard - PF

Tues 22nd June - Shotley Peninsula -  Reunion Party - PF

 

July

Thurs 1st July - Radio Suffolk - 3.30 pm

Sat 3rd July - Stansfield Village Hall  - TD - OTP

Sun 4th July - Two Sisters Theatre, Felixstowe - Suffolk Day Talk - OTP

Wed 7th July - Stowupland LHG - TD - PF

Fri 9th July  - Stanwick W.I. - HOSE - PF 

Wed 21st July - Needham Market Society - TD - PF 

Wed 28th July - Sainsbury's Veterans - HOSE - PF

Fri 30th July - Bury St Edmunds Golf Club - TD - PF

Sat 31st July - Fressingfield - after lunch talk - 60th Wedding Anniversary - PF

 

August

Sat 28th Aug - Framsden VH - ELS - OTP

 

September

Wed 1st Sept - South Woodham Ferrers U3A - HOSE - PF (afternoon)

Wed 1st Sept - Broadway Belles W.I. - Leigh-on-Sea - HOSE - PF (evening)

Wed 8th Sept - West Bergholt Hist. Group - TD - PF

Thurs 9th Sept - Wickham Mkt W.I. - TD - PF

Tues 14th Sept - North Cove & Barnby W.I. - HOSE- PF

Wed 15th Sept - Beccles U3A - TD - PF

Sat 18th Sept - All Saints Church, Holbrook - TD - OTP

Mon 20th Sept - Melton W.I. - TD - PF

Tues 21st Sept - Gazeley History Society - TD - PF

Sat 25th Sept - St Mary & St Botolph, Whitton  - TD - PF

Mon 27th Sept - Dalham and Gazeley W.I. - HOS - PF

Thurs 30th Sept - NHS Retirement Fellowship Basildon - HOSE - PF

 

October

Sat 2nd Oct - Melton Old Church - HOSE - OTP

Tues 5th Oct – Halstead U3A – HOS – PF

Thurs 7th Oct - Stanstead History Club - HOS - PF

Sat 9th Oct - West Hanningfield Church - HOS - PF

Wed 13th Oct - Shottisham W.I. - TD - PF

Thurs 14th Oct – Haverhill FHG – HOSE - PF

Fri 15th Oct - Glemsford W.I. - TD - OTP

Mon 18th Oct - Sible Hedingham W.I. - HOS

Tues 19th Oct - Waltham Forest U3A - HOS - PF

Thurs 21st Oct - Trafalgar Day Talk - Shotley Peninsula - PF

Sat 23rd Oct - Royal Harwich YC - ADS - PF

Thurs 28th Oct - Beacon Wine Circle - HOS - PF

Fri 29th Oct – Bures Darby & Joan Club – HOSE – PF

 

November

Mon 8th Nov –W Suffolk NHS Retirement Fellowship - TD - PF

Tues 9th Nov -  Southwold Museum and Historical Soc. - HOSE - PF

Wed 10th Nov - Writtle Evening W.I. - HOSE - PF

Thurs 11th Nov - Elmswell History Group - TD - OTP

Tues 16th Nov - Upminster U3A - HOSE-2

Thur 18th Nov - Old Ram Tractor Club - TG - PF

Fri 19th Nov - Carleton Rode Hist Group - HOSE - PF 

Mon 22nd Nov - Bramford History Club - HOS - PF

Tues 23rd Nov - Watford Park U3A - HOSE - PF

Wed 24th Nov  – Chorleywood U3A – HOSE - PF

 

December

Wed  1st Dec – Westerfield & Dist. Gardening Club – TD – PF

Sat 4th Dec - Walberswick Local Hist Group - TD - PF

Mon 6th Dec - Blackbourne U3A - HOS - PF

Tues 7th Dec - Townswomen's Guild - Hadleigh, Essex - HOS - PF

Wed 8th Dec - Felixstowe FHS & Museum – TD

Thurs 9th Dec - Stanford-le-Hope U3A - HOS - PF

Tues 14th Dec - Bacton Historical Society - TD - PF

 

2022

January

Fri 7th Jan  – Tendring Dist U3A – HOS – Frinton (morning) - PF

Fri 7th Jan  – Tendring Dist U3A – HOS– Holland-on-Sea (afternoon) - PF

Fri 15th Jan - Limebrook U3A - HOS - PF

Wed 19th Jan - Stowmarket U3A - TD - PF

 

February

Wed 9th Feb  - Ware U3A - HOS - PF  

Thurs 17th Feb - Henley W.I. - TD  - PF

 

March

Thurs 3rd Mar - Wissey U3A  - TD - PF

Tuesday, 8th Mar   - Maulden W.I.  (Beds) - HOSE - PF

Wed 9th Mar - Havering U3A - HOS - PF

Tues 15th Mar - Waltham Forest U3A - HOSE-pt2 - PF

 

April

Sat 2nd April - Melford Bull Ramblers - ELSE - PF

Wed 6th April - Haughley W.I. - TD  - PF

Mon 11th April -  Bishop's Stortford U3A – HOSE– PF

Thurs 21st April – Old Buckenham W.I – HOSE – PF

Thurs 28th April - W.I. Dove Group - TD - PF

 

May

Fri 13th May - Holbrook Society - TD - OTP

Mon 23th May - East Suffolk U3A - HOS - PF

 

June

Tues 21st June - Quay Theatre Sudbury  - Suffolk Day Talk  - OTP

 

July

Fri 1st July - Southwold Arts Festival - TD - OTP

Tues 19th July - St Neot's U3A - HOSE - PF

Thurs 21st July- Watton U3A - HOS - PF

Mon 25th July - Hutton U3A - ELC - PF

 

September

Wed 14th Sept  - Little Waldingfield Hist. Soc. - TD - PF

Thurs 29th Sept - Thetford U3A - TD - PF

 

November

Wed 9th Nov - Havering U3A - TD - PF

Mon 14th Nov -  Bishop's Stortford U3A – HOS– PF

Tues 22nd Nov - Fressingfield LH & AG - TD - PF

 

 

Key

TD - Charlie and "The Dig"

HOSE - History of Spoken English

HOSE-2  - History of Spoken English - Part 2

HOS – History of Surnames

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

ELC – Eccentric Look at the Countryside

ADS – After Dinner Speech

OTP – Open to the Public